I’ve woken to thunderstorms

…and sad sad news.

Sad news number one: David Tennant has announced his resignation from Doctor Who

David Tennant has revealed he will quit Dr Who at the end of next year, ending months of speculation over his future in the role. The announcement came as the star won most popular actor at the National Television Awards and the show picked up the accolade for most popular drama. Despite his awards success, the BBC confirmed last night that the star will not play the Time Lord for the fifth series, which is planned for 2010. Tennant said: ‘I’ve had the most brilliant, bewildering and life-changing time working on Doctor Who. I have loved every day of it.

‘It would be very easy to cling on to the Tardis console forever and I fear that if I don’t take a deep breath and make the decision to move on now, then I simply never will. ‘You would be prising the Tardis key out of my cold dead hand. This show has been so special to me, I don’t want to outstay my welcome. ‘I feel very privileged to have been part of this incredible phenomenon, and whilst I’m looking forward to new challenges I know I’ll always be very proud to be the Tenth Doctor.’

He will complete four special episodes of the hit drama, which will air in 2009 in place of the traditional spring series.

And sad news number two: Russell Brand has quit the Beeb after a ridiculous “scandal”

Russell Brand has resigned from his BBC Radio 2 show over the “Sachsgate” row, after an extraordinary day in which he and Jonathan Ross were suspended by the corporation. Brand’s resignation came just minutes after Ross spoke publicly for the first time about the affair, saying he is “deeply sorry” for his “juvenile and thoughtless remarks”. Brand and Ross’s statements came as the BBC confirmed that it had now received 27,000 complaints about their prank calls – up from 18,000 this morning. In his resignation video statement, standing beside what appeared to be a portrait of Stalin, Brand said he took “complete responsibility” for the prank phone calls he made with Ross to 78-year-old former Fawlty Towers actor Andrew Sachs and that he got “caught up in the moment”. In the messages, pre-recorded and broadcast on Radio 2 late on Saturday October 18, the pair alluded to Brand having had sex with Sachs’ granddaughter, Georgina Baillie. Brand apologised to both Sachs, “a beloved and brilliant comic actor”, and Baillie, “a very sweet and big hearted young woman”, and his “loyal listeners”. He also said he hoped “now that Jonathan and the BBC will endure less forensic wrath”.

I could write a lot about both of these news points, but there is enough going around the internet at the moment, just google it. I’m gutted by Tennant’s resignation and furious at the way Brand has been made a scapegoat for the BBC. But meh, I’m not going to waste my energy on it, I’ve got better things to do today. Like taking up drinking and mourning.

~ by Fen on October 30, 2008.

2 Responses to “I’ve woken to thunderstorms”

  1. Hey Fenz,Great blog! Ive just been reading a few of your posts.I manage a large Australian job search website and I’m hoping you can help me.If you’re interested, please email me at chris.hamilton @ omg.com.au,Thanks!

  2. Help you do what exactly? Sorry I don’t just send off email to random messages on blogs, especially ones who’s blogger profile is hidden.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
