Post Surgery Update

So I now have an official diagnosis of endometriosis. Whilst this is a bummer, it is also good to finally have a reason for my woes. If you have no idea what endo is, please go here for a little read.I was taken into surgery around 11am. The surgeon did the usual, what’s your name and what operation are you having today and I replied “boob job” much to the amusement of all present! Then it was off to la la land, geez I love me some anaesthetic. I woke up at about 2pm. So not sure how long it all took. I had the following done:

  • pap smear
  • hysteroscopy
  • D & C
  • laparoscopy
  • diathermy
  • division adhesions

post surgery update

The surgeon showed me the photos afterwards and told me how badly affected my left ovary was. My right ovary was normal oval shaped however my left ovary had bad adhesions to whatever was next to it and was stretched out all sausage shaped. No wonder i’d been having so much pain on that side. There were random other adhesions and endo spots but nothing as bad as the ovary. Phew.

The lovely Abbey and Holly picked me up and it was off home. Unfortunately I was not tired at all, though very brain affected! So I settled in for a night in front of the TV. After half of Aussie Ladette to Lady I was ready for bed.

This morning I was up at 6am as the pain was making bed uncomfortable. I think I’ll just potter about until the internet bores me back to sleep, or more drugs kick in!

~ by Fen on February 25, 2009.

5 Responses to “Post Surgery Update”

  1. I am very relieved that you finally have a diagnosis. I hope the pain of surgery ends soon. I have been thinking of you today, and glad to see you home and safe.

  2. I haven’t had surgery since having my tonsils gouged out in my early twenties. I hope you got a good perve at the dishy surgeon and have many pain-free years when you recover.

  3. Hi Fenz!When you’re ready to do some endometriosis reading, look me up. :)Jeanne

  4. Fenz,I just spotted you on Endochick’s blog. How are you feeling?:)Jeanne

  5. […] to become defined by this. The last 6 years have been really tough on my body. Endometriosis and subsequent surgery. Then a fuck off big tumour, followed by major surgery. If that wasn’t enough, I had […]

Leave a Comment For Me

 
