It was more than just the music…

I’ve downloaded a set tonight that has set my nostalgia off in big waves. It’s Laurent Garnier playing the final gig at the closing of The End nightclub in London. I used to live just up the road from The End and saw Garnier play there, had a brilliant night in fact. It’s a shame it’s closed, it was a special club that one.

Anyway, I’ve been talking to Martin about our old “raver” days. We’d go out every weekend just about, before I met him I’d go out once, maybe twice a week to clubs or bigger rave events. I think I dabbled in party substances as much as I was straight, it didn’t bother me to go without. Most people don’t understand my love of dance music. It’s not the commercial doof doof you hear on cheesy radio stations, it’s proper techno, tech house, old skool trance etc. It’s the music that became my soundtrack for quite a few years, the tunes that I heard week in week out at these places. Entwined with the memories and the people that shared these experiences with me. Back then there was a real sense of community, of happiness, it didn’t matter what you wore or who you were there with, you could even go alone and know that you would meet at least 5 other people you knew quite well. We were all there for the same cause. Now it’s selfish and arrogant and about being seen. It really was about the PLUR, that cheesy acronym that people used to spout – Peace. Love. Unity. Respect. There’s really none of that now and boy do I miss it. To understand what dance music is to me is to understand the essence of who I am. The layers, the nuances, the subtleties.

Not many people these days understand that.

Photobucket Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I could go on and on, but not many people would get what I’m rabbiting on about. Some days I’m not sure I do.

But I wouldn’t trade those days for anything in the world. I may have effed up my health as a result and have gone a bit deaf, but the memories I have of the amazing times we had cannot be replaced.

~ by Fen on June 12, 2009.

5 Responses to “It was more than just the music…”

  1. Sounds like you love your raves!I'm sure there are heaps of clubs you can go to that are still about the PLUR, you just need to find them.

  2. I think it is sad that someone my age still likes trance etc. Critics of it need to sit down with headphones on and listen to cleverly some of it is constructed. While you are much younger, I am pleased I am not the only one.

  3. Scott – i used to love my raves, however I'm not young anymore and I can't go hard like that these days. I'm happy with my memories and an ipod full of tunes!Andrew – you're so right, anyone who bags anything I listen to i tell to eff off! It's all personal choice anyway, so how someone can be a critic of another person's taste is beyond me! I recently had to buy new headphones coz mine broke šŸ˜¦

  4. Whoa my gawd, look at you you mad-cunt trippah hard-core styleeeee. Ahem, or something like that.Dance music built me, Real dance that is – not that pop-trash-pseudo-techno bollocks you get today. Cheers to you Fenz for reminding me of what I'd almost let slip away!

  5. Mutant – glad I could remind you of your halcyon days šŸ˜‰

Leave a Comment For Me

 
