good news

I went to the doctors to get the results of my CT scan today. I swear that 20 minutes waiting in the waiting room was the slowest, most tortuous of my entire life. I was doing deep breathing exercises, trying to calm my poor nervous system down. When the doc finally called my name I wondered if I’d pass out from the ridiculousness of it all!!!The doctor pulled out what seemed to be a hundred scans and shuffled through them, telling me that my tumour was benign. BENIGN! Immediately I felt as light as a feather. I tried to pay attention to the scans he was showing me, but they seemed confusing and I couldn’t make anything out on them.

He basically said that they wanted to repeat the scans in 3 months to see if the tumour had grown and then they will decide what to do. The surgery is pretty major, so I guess they don’t want to do anything unnecesary.

I’ve since had a look at the scans and read the report and I’ll summarise as best as my non medical self can.

Photobucket

Photobucket
(so obvious…..not!!!)

The tumour is the second most common benign tumour of the liver called a focal nodular hyperplasia (FNH). It is in the right lobe of my liver, measuring 9 x 9.3 x 8.7cms. The liver is the second largest single organ in the body (after the skin) and measures around 21-22.5 cm across its widest point, 15-17.5 cm at its greatest vertical height, and 10-12.5 cm from front to back. So my tumour takes up a fairly significant part of my liver!!

There you go!

So relieved and so happy.

Thanks to everyone who supported me the last few weeks – muchly appreciated xoxoxxoxox

 

~ by Fen on August 11, 2009.

6 Responses to “good news”

  1. That really is very exciting news. So glad to hear you can finally breathe a sigh of relief!

  2. Good to hear Fenz.

  3. Yaaaay!Way to go. I'll let Frank know we don't need the body.Good work.

  4. Thank bloody goodness *stamps feet and shakes head at mythical mother nature person up in the sky*.

  5. thanks folksDave – tell Frank I still want the body, this one is past its used by date methinks!

  6. […] The last 6 years have been really tough on my body. Endometriosis and subsequent surgery. Then a fuck off big tumour, followed by major surgery. If that wasn’t enough, I had complications followed by 3 […]

Leave a Comment For Me

 
