my weekend

Tuesday/Wednesday is my weekend as I work Sundays now. So my weekend has landed!
I had a lovely sleep in this morning, flattened by the cat. I’m about to make a quiche and potter about the house for the rest of the day, I don’t feel like doing much. I’ve got a migraine, I’m having my first period in 4 months (by choice I’d never have one ever again, but unless i have my plumbing removed that ain’t gonna happen), so trying to keep it from becoming full blown. I’m functional at the moment, but too much of anything could render me powerless.

I did finally finish my urn and I put my Mother’s ashes in it. For those who don’t know, my Mum died in 2002. When we got her ashes back I vowed to find a nice urn to put them in. Alas all the ones they sold through the funeral home were gaudy or ridiculous and the years passed and I’d still done nothing. We did scatter half of her ashes in the country where she was born (the Isle of Man) but I have the remaining ashes. Last semester I discovered at St. V’s that they had blank urns and I decided to paint one myself and use it. As I’m a rubbish artist, I did it all one colour with a different coloured lid. (the lid reminds me of a russian war hat thing!!) So finally Mum’s ashes are in their final resting spot. (the colours are a bit wrong in this pic, it’s more bluey green and the lid is pumpkiny yellow!)

Photobucket

I also thought I’d take a pic of my japanese weeping maple as it’s starting to look like a plant rather than a stick.

baby japanese maple

YAY!

Ok, cooking time.

~ by Fen on September 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “my weekend”

  1. What a gorgeous, cheering urn and well worth the wait to find the right one. A migraine and period at the same time is a double whammy of suckiness :-(.

  2. thanks cranks, I think it was definitely worth the wait.I always get a migraine with my period, one of the reasons I choose not to have it very often! lol. Too much annoyance for a little Fenbrain!

  3. Maple looks great. The urn, un-traditional but ok.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
