The Horse Boy

I just finished reading a most amazing book that touched my heart.
Photobucket
I’ll pinch the blurb about the book because it sums it up perfectly:
When his son Rowan was diagnosed with autism Rupert Isaacson was devastated, fearing he would never be able to communicate with his child. Then two things happened. Rowan made an unlikely connection with a group of visiting traditional healers; and Rupert, a lifelong horseman, went riding with his son.
The improvement each time was so striking that Rupert Isaacson came up with a crazy idea. There is one place, one culture, in the world where horses and shamanic healing intersect. Why not take Rowan there—to Mongolia?
The Horse Boy is the dramatic story of that impossible adventure. In Mongolia, the family found undreamed of landscapes and people, unbearable setbacks, and advances beyond their wildest dreams. This is a deeply moving, truly one-of-a-kind story—of a family willing to go to the ends of the earth to help their son, and of a boy learning to connect with the world for the first time.
I’d heard Rupert’s speech at the Melbourne Writers Festival on Tony Delroy’s show one night and was immediately interested in reading more about this family’s journey.  I couldn’t put the book down and was fascinated the whole way.  I’d highly recommend it.
~ by Fen on December 30, 2009.

4 Responses to “The Horse Boy”

  1. Does sound interesting. Wonder if there is a podcast.

  2. I've read this or something similiar and even today it sticks in my mind – Eventaully after time – eye contact was made it the way it was retold in the story almost broke my heartI can recommend this as a BRILLIANT read

  3. I haven't read the book, so I can't comment (ignore the fact that I AM commenting) but, having just come across your blog, I felt I had to say something.And it is this – you like stationery! I know there are 99 other things on that list, but really, what are the chances?

  4. Andrew – I'll have a look for you and report back, I'd like to listen again, he's a really good speaker.IAS(MOT) – same here, my heart broke a few times reading this, but it was also so uplifting. There's a documentary made as well, I have watched half of it and you realised just what they had to put up with having an autistic son. I'd not have the patience they had.Staple Gun – YES, i adore stationery, give me an officeworks or some similar store and i'm in heaven!!!! Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Comment For Me

 
