R.I.P. ALICE – 1996 – 2010

Dad rang tonight to say that Alice was having trouble breathing and that he was at the vets, they were going to put her down.  We both cried, knowing it was the best thing for her, she’s been battling for a few weeks now and her body is failing fast.

Alice is my little baby.  The second cat I owned, or the second cat that owned me.  She has an adorable personality so full of love and affection, and the need for food!  Without fail, around 3pm every day, if you were home you’d know about Alice’s need for food – NOW!  She was the most persistent cat ever!

Every night she’d sit on my bedside table, patiently waiting for me to climb into bed.  If I were taking too long to settle down she’d pat me on the head, telling me to hurry up.  Then she’d climb onto the pillow, next to my  head and knead up a storm in my hair.  She never used her claws, but boy did she make a mess of my hair!

She retired to the farm 5 years ago, when I went to London.  When I returned I couldn’t stand the thought of having her cooped up in a little flat, so she stayed up there with Elliott and Nina.  After all, she was the queen of the gas log fire & keeping the dogs in line.

I’m going to miss her heaps. She always bought a smile to my face with her chatterbox ways.  The world will be a quieter place without Alice.

Photobucket

My girl

~ by Fen on May 29, 2010.

10 Responses to “R.I.P. ALICE – 1996 – 2010”

  1. Oh no.. :o(This hit a raw nerve. Already highly emotional right now, and this…well.You write from the heart, and I can feel your deep loss. I feel right there with you. I miss my Smokey so much lately. *hugs*

  2. (((hugs))) So sorry to hear šŸ˜¦

  3. oh she was beautiful – 14 is a good age for a cat to reach – love and sympathy from me X X X

  4. Sorry. What great markings she had and a nice face too.

  5. oh i forgot about her little pats that she would give, so cute and gentle. Alice will be missed, she was such a lovely cat šŸ˜¦

  6. The world will be a sadder place without her presence, soo. Rest in peace, beautiful kitty.

  7. Thanks everyone for your kind words. It's always hard for me losing a pet as I get so damn attached to them. I'm well on the way to becoming a mad cat lady!

  8. *huge hugs* RIP gorgeous Alice.

  9. Lovely cat and now I might just go and pat the swine that's still sleeping in my clean washing.

  10. beautiful kitty..I told taz he wasn't allowed to die.. but it doesn't work like that does it.. sorry hon xx

Leave a Comment For Me

 
