withdrawals

I’ve been suffering silently for the last week and today I went to my doctors to try to make sense of it all.  It wasn’t the pain, coz I’m not having much of that, in fact I haven’t even been taking panadol regularly.  It was the dizziness, the flatness, the general lethargy and MEH!  I had my suspicions and she confirmed that it was morphine withdrawal.  She was a bit miffed that I wasn’t told to wean off my morphine and now so am I.  She wanted to put me back ON the damned stuff, but I told her no way, I’m not taking it ever again!  So I’ll still suffer but hopefully things will start to improve soon… keep your bits crossed.
She’s also sent me for a lung xray as I’ve been having shortness of breath for a few days now.  She’s worried that I might have little clots, so I’m booked in tomorrow to have that done.  I also had a B12 injection as I was overdue, low B12 levels can also make you short of breath, so either way hopefully this thing will be sorted out.
I’m so over having medical procedures.  I just want to get on with my recovery and my life.

*edit* I just found out the xray costs upwards of $500 and you are out of pocket around $150. I haven’t had an income for over a fucking month and fucking centrelink STILL haven’t sorted anything out so I have no health care card etc.  FUCK THAT.  So yanno what, it’s time to live life by the seat of my pants. If I’ve got clots so fucking be it, I don’t care anymore.

~ by Fen on September 22, 2010.

11 Responses to “withdrawals”

  1. Morphine is bloody evil stuff – I had a few days of it last year and it made me nauseous as well as a few other unpleasant side effects. I suppose it has its place, but doctors seem to take it for granted that you're aware of the downsides. You're better off getting off it as soon as you're able!Besides, based on your tweets, you're sounding far too mellow 😉

  2. Addict in withdrawal 😛

  3. Do not like the sound of the lung clots… I'm suprised you weren't kept on any blood thinners to be honest.Here's hoping the B12 shot will do the trick. Hang in there Fen, you're doing so well. x

  4. WAS doing well Ute, so fed up and disillusioned now I'm pulling the doona over my head and pretending the world doesn't exist.Mellow Andrew? LOL. I'm all talk.

  5. {{Hugs}} lovely. oxoxWV: friess!!! :o)))

  6. maybe ask for another referral for an x-ray? There are radiolographers who bulk bill.. or could you get it done at the hospital??

  7. Pleural effusions shouldn't be mucked around with, please borrow the money off your dad or Nan or someone.Go to the Salvos.Please, just to be safe.

  8. I know you're over it, but get that xray done. Otherwise we may all be left trying to get over you.

  9. I up-chuck with morphine, and reading this, I'm pretty happy about that! I won't nag you over the x-ray, as I've just popped over from reading your latest post, I just wanted to fill in with what's been happenning with you.

  10. Hang onto the receipt from your Xray and when your Health Care Card comes take it to Medicare and you might be able to get more back. That's how it used to work!

  11. Thanks for the advice anonymous, this was nearly a month ago. It's been sorted.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
