brown beach

I caught up with a friend today who doesn’t live too far away and we decided to head down to the beach, as it was going to be warm.  She was keen to check out Seaford beach as I’d been going on about it in the past and she wanted to see it for herself.  
As we headed up the same path that I’ve walked up hundreds of times, I could see the old tree was still standing. That’s always one of the first things I check for at the start of every Summer season. (though this is an old photo, it’s missing one of those limbs this year & it’s looking more haggard).
sentinel
As we headed over the little rise we could smell a brine like smell.  Then we noticed the water was brown.  Ew.  I’ve never seen this in the whole time I’ve been going to Seaford, which is probably 15 years or so.
dirty seaford
Upon closer inspection the water was full of mashed up seaweed.  The waters edge was absolutely littered with dead stinking pippies, shells and weirdest of all, arms of starfish (do starfish have legs? Maybe there were legs too!).  I have no idea what has caused this but I really hope that this stink and muck clears out before proper Summer begins.  Or I’m going to have to find myself a new beach to frequent.
shells
After a snooze on the beach we headed into the town centre for some lunch then sat on the end of the pier, soaking in the glorious weather and ignoring the dim-witted boys that really should have been at school.  It was superb.  The brown water seemed to continue right until Frankston, but I noticed that it wasn’t at the mouth of the Patterson River.  Hmmm.
Of course the weather is changing, as I type, so the weekend doesn’t look too brilliant.  This is my last free weekend as I start work this week and my weekends disappear.
~ by Fen on October 22, 2010.

3 Responses to “brown beach”

  1. the ti-tree at Seaford beach was absolutely THE spot for post-WW2 late-night parking. I suspect I was conceived there. There's a lot more to the Baby Boom story than is usually mentioned.

  2. next in my subscription feed was adaptiveradiation.blogspot who said"I went to St Kilda pier today to collect pipefishes for research. The seagrass beds are teaming with these seahorse relatives. And, like seahorses, it's the male pipefishes that undergo 'pregnancy' and give birth. We were collecting them for a genetic study. It was a beautiful day for fieldwork: sunny, warm. However, as is typical with any kind of fieldwork in the city, people get very curious about what we were doing and soon gathered around our nets asking questions.Curious bystander: "Are they garfish?"Me: "No. They're pipefish."Curious bystander: "Are you going to eat them?"Me: "No. We're doing research on them"Curious bystander: "Do you actually get paid for this?"Me: "Absolutely."Curious bystander: "Wow."Posted by Adaptive Radiation

  3. I'd say the bodies were from the storms we've had which has stirred up the dredging detritus, you know the stuff that isn't happening.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
