the obligatory christmas post

My Christmas Day, whilst tinged with sadness, is always a lovely affair.  I am reminded how truly wonderful my family is and how good they are at cooking and eating.
This year we were at my cousin’s house, as my Aunt has recently been diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis and hasn’t been well as a result.  I drove my Nan over and we ate and drank and chatted the day away.
I started with oysters kilpatrick though I ignored the prawns coz they’re too much work for me! The main fare was amazing, plenty of pork (that I can’t eat – too rich for me!), turkey, beef, ham, all cooked to perfection. Lots of yummy salad made by me, with freshly picked tomatoes & cucumber, and other bits and pieces. I didn’t over eat, for some reason I can only eat in medium increments now, so I paced myself.
It was great to catch up with my Aunts & Uncles and Cousins and my Dad put in an appearance. We had a huge range of ages, from my cousin’s 9 month old boy to my Aunt’s 98 year old Aunt.  Brilliant.
Most people left just before the storms hit after a wonderful few hours. 

Xavier (9 months)
9 month old Xavier, eating a strawberry that is also apparently, good for your face

Betty (98 years old)
Aunty Betty – 98 years old!

Cousin Anna
Almost 12 – my cousin Anna

my lovely Nanna
My beautiful Nanna

christmas storms
Storm Clouds – we didn’t much more than rain and thunder here, unlike other parts of Melbourne.

Tamika, hiding under the tree from the storms

my little tree, that I took down today, goodbye Christmas!
Xmas Eve – relaxing in the shade
Alex chilling
lying in the yard daydreaming
blue skies

I hope you all had fabulous Christmas Days and have a little time off.  For once I actually have holidays, around 2 weeks off which is brilliant. I slept in today (after the initial 5am wake up). Loving it!
~ by Fen on December 26, 2011.

7 Responses to “the obligatory christmas post”

  1. Lovely pics. Gotta love Aunty. Bloody hell! She's awesome. Great post, luv. Glad you had a good time. I'm not sure I have the energy to pull down my tree yet…. xx

  2. You pulled down your tree already?! :OI can't talk, we didn't even bother with deco's this year.Loved all your pics. Sounds/looks like you had a great day.

  3. Merry Christmas to you as well! And I FEEL for your Auntie with the RA. I also have it and when it strikes, it is incredibly painful. I am jealous of your warm weather. I would LOVE a Christmas where I could wear a sun dress!

  4. My street turned into a river. Suddenly I had a waterfront property. Quick sale needed, but even liar estate agents are closed Xmas day; the only things open are pubs and brothels.Love the picture of pussy cat hiding.

  5. Your Aunt Betty looks great for her age. I wish our tree could come down that quickly. Enjoy your two weeks off.

  6. Aunty Betty looks great for 98 … or 88 really. Hope you get those good genes.I am surprised Tamika isn't UP the tree, the standard feline trick.Lovely family, lovely pictures. X X

  7. This comment has been removed by the author.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
