Sydney – long weekend

I’m back from 3 days in Sydney and I had a superb time. I now have a headcold courtesy of the snotfaced Holly, but that I can live with. It’s a small price to pay for getting to hang out with my P.I.E. and her clan.

I flew up on Thursday night after work, driving to Tullamarine in rain storms after waiting out a thunderstorm at work. I parked in the long term carpark and didn’t have to wait long for the bus. Top tip, if you park in section “G” then you get picked up first and also dropped off first on the way back.

My flight up was uneventful, as they should be. I’d almost forgotten how much I LOVE flying. Kinda wished I could be up in the jump seat however. I flew from Sydney to Melbourne once in the jump seat, at night, getting to watch the world go by out the cockpit window. It was amazing. They don’t let you do that sort of stuff anymore, which is a real shame.

Loz met me at the airport and we headed out to her place, where I finally got to meet her partner after all these years! The kids were in bed so that meeting had to wait until morning. There was another storm through the night and I woke up feeling refreshed.

My long weekend was spent making the most of the sunshine, hanging out with the kids and visiting the beach. I couldn’t have asked for a better weekend to be honest.  It was a real effort to make myself get ready to come back home.

Of course my flight was delayed coming back and unsurprisingly Jetstar didn’t seem to think it was worth letting anyone know the flight was delayed by an hour until ooh, 5 mins before the original departure time. I could have cared less but there were some snippy people floating about the terminal who weren’t impressed!  It meant we didn’t land til 11pm and by the time I got back to my car and drove home it was well after midnight. The cats were happy to see me which made my homecoming a little easier to bear!

I can’t seem to do pics nicely in my posts anymore, so they get lumped at the end.

A gorgeous rainbow greeted me as I arrived.

After the rain!

Each Summer contains at least one of these shots, getting in early! Could have done with shorts.

Loz & I enjoying the sun at Darook Beach

Taking silly pics with Chloe & Holly! I am a big kid after all

Sunshine, so I don’t forget what it looks like

Suki stretched out in front of the heater at night

I wish there was one of these near me, I’d swim every day

Soaking up the rays!

attractive no?

LOL!

~ by Fen on August 27, 2012.

10 Responses to “Sydney – long weekend”

  1. I love your pics. Especially the rainbow one.
    So glad you got away for the weekend and soaked up some sunshine. Good for the soul. 🙂

  2. Great photos. The sea water pools are so very Sydney. I wonder if they will go under with the sea levels rising. I too was driving in the rain storms on Thursday.

  3. Good heavens, I was in Cairns the weekend before. I flew Tiger, stayed at Heritage Cairns Hotel, dined at Byblos Cafe, hired a Toyota Camry.
    Byblos was good, the proprietor is a gay man. His waitress told me.

  4. Like Ute said, great pics and the rainbow one is cool.

    The storms were mad. I was stuck in the hail while on Eastlink and I could see rainbows to the left and sun to the right but was in a bloody dangerous situation in front of me!

    Your kittehs must have missed you.

    • Thanks Nic. It was a bit hairy driving in such conditions, but I actually don’t mind it. I seemed to do a hell of a lot of my practice driving in such weather when I was learning, it put me in good stead!

  5. Why?

  6. Why should I start my own blog?

Leave a Comment For Me

 
