Dream Analysis

Freud propounded the theory that dreams are the contraband representations of the beast within man, smuggled into awareness during sleep. In his interpretation, the analysis of dreams is the key to unlocking the secrets of the unconscious mind.

For this reason I do not believe in dream analysis books, as dreams are far too personal to fit into one box with one label. Only each individual person’s sub or unconscious mind holds the key to unlocking what each dream may be about.

Yet that can be really hard work.

Lately I’ve been having some recurring themes in my dreams and I’d love old Freud to help me work them out for me. For a long time (not in the recent past) I had dreams about trains. About being on trains, moving towards the unknown (a simple summation of my dreams, they were often far more complex than this, but how long does one have!). I have a real life phobia of trains so coming up with an explanation for these dreams wasn’t too difficult. I dreamed of trains whenever I felt things were out of control in my life, whenever I felt really uneasy or unsettled about something. Of course it took me a little while to put it all together, but really it’s screamingly obvious once you get it.

Recently, and including last night, my dreams have different symbols, ones that I have not figured out yet. More to the point, I have not allowed myself the time to ponder it, so instead I shall blog about it, because I like to share.

In reflection there is a greater play of psychic activity than in the most attentive self-observation; this is shown even by the tense attitude and the wrinkled brow of the man in a state of reflection, as opposed to the mimic tranquillity of the man observing himself. In both cases there must be concentrated attention, but the reflective man makes use of his critical faculties, with the result that he rejects some of the thoughts which rise into consciousness after he has become aware of them, and abruptly interrupts others, so that he does not follow the lines of thought which they would otherwise open up for him; while in respect of yet other thoughts he is able to behave in such a manner that they do not become conscious at all — that is to say, they are suppressed before they are perceived. In self-observation, on the other hand, he has but one task — that of suppressing criticism; if he succeeds in doing this, an unlimited number of thoughts enter his consciousness which would otherwise have eluded his grasp. With the aid of the material thus obtained — material which is new to the self-observer — it is possible to achieve the interpretation of pathological ideas, and also that of dream-formations. 

(Freud: The Interpretation of Dreams)

If you go to any dream analysis site and look up trains you get some whacked out ideas, but realistically how can you apply such nonsense to you own life.  For example: “To dream that you are on a train symbolizes your life’s journey. It suggests that you are on the right track in life and headed in the right direction.” It is very easy to look at those 2 sentences and apply it to your life as it stands, but this is surely not true. How can some generic explanation for a dream apply to your own unconscious mind? The unconscious mind consists of the processes in the mind that occur automatically and are not available to introspection, and include thought processes, memory, affect, and motivation. Therefore you cannot apply generic ideas to what happens in your unconscious mind in my opinion.

Anyway, this is beginning to sound like a psychology essay, boy am I glad I’ve left those far behind!

So back to my dreams. Lately I have two reoccurring themes/symbols, often happening in the same dream.  The first one is that I dream about my childhood homes, or what are supposedly my childhood homes. One dream that stuck with me for days was about my very first home, that I actually have no real memory of. However there in my dreams it was recreated in a bizarre way and I was observing how much it had changed over the years and how much smaller it was. Again last night I dreamed about a different childhood home (I had 2) and this one was a little more realistic, however the details are now somewhat dim.

Upper Beaconsfield

I also dream about violent thunderstorms. These ones wake me up with their intensity and often I feel a little out of sorts or even frightened, as if the noise and energy of the storm has followed me through into my waking world.  These storms are always massive with the lightning striking close to where I am situated. Sometimes they build up over the course of the dream but often the storms appear out of nowhere, unleashing their terror upon me. I’m not scared of thunderstorms in my waking life it has to be said. Instead I almost get a thrill out of a good storm!

From A Balcony - Storm of the Year

These two themes have combined lately, whereby I have been in my childhood home witnessing a storm. Where’s that Sigmund Freud when you need him?

The only other recurring dreams that I have are sex dreams, and yes, we all know what those mean. Fen needs to get laid!!

I’ve blogged about my cheese dreams in the past, I still get those, though a lot less than I used to.  (not sure what happened to the formatting of that post, it’s all gone Pete Tong, though I fixed some of it).  I miss my counselling studies, I miss being introspective and actually having the time and space to look inside my own mind.

With this head cold it feels like I have a big block of concrete inside my head. Yuk.

~ by Fen on August 30, 2012.

7 Responses to “Dream Analysis”

  1. You’ve never left home.

  2. Neither have I.

    Well it can follow you around.

  3. You had 3… THREE blog posts come up in my Google reader today!
    Cheese, this one, and the last one which I’ll go comment on in a tic.

    I keep on meaning to write down some of my weird dreams, but of course, forget.
    Recently I haven’t really dreamed that much, or much of anything I can remember.
    I used to have real vivid dreams. Nightmares… still get a few of them.

    • yeah I know, I did 2 today and edited one, which came up in reader for some weird reason – that was teh cheese one oddness i dream a lot, love it!!

  4. You’ve always been daddy’s girl.

  5. Yes, but no one like you afraid of hell.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
