2012 reviewed

Pinched from the ever so adorable Fi (can’t link her coz she’s secretive)

1.What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?

I was the sickest I’ve ever been in my life and underwent massive trauma involving my health. However I came out the other side and feel like I’m flourishing.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t remember making any, it’s not something I generally do. I change my mind far too often! Next year – exploration, fun, push myself, be happy.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No, but my sister is due to have a baby in 2 months and I will be an awesome Aunt!

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Not that I remember…

5. What countries did you visit?

I was meant to go to the UK but alas never got there due to my extended hospital stint. I did however get to go to Sydney and Perth, both trips were a lot of fun. I need to travel more within my own country.

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?

Good health.  Simple really.

The less simple version would be to be less anxious about my health. It was pointed out to me by my doctor just tonight that I worry too much about my health. I am allowed to be concerned but not to stress about it.  I have been having a lot more tachycardia lately (I’ve had heart issues for about 8 years now), she’s upped my beta blockers to hopefully bring this under control. I also appear to have blood pressure that doesn’t adjust from sitting to standing. It’s not low, I just don’t dilate my whatsits and therefore feel faint when exercising, standing up etc.   I need to eat more salt apparently.  Hah. Salt & vinegar chips anyone!  I think I shall do some yoga or body balance soon as part of my exercise regime, to bring some more zen to my life. I’m pretty laid back but I need to be more centred.

7. What dates from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Um, the whole first half of the year?  I hope I never get to out do that 6 months, ever.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Not going completely round the twist after my health woes!  The more I think about it the prouder I am at my resilience in getting through what I did.  I could quite easily have just given up and gone bonkers.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I don’t think I necessarily failed, but I still have real trouble letting people in. Or if I do let them in I then self destruct the relationship. I’m too self reliant, I don’t ask for anything from anyone and that’s not a good thing. I need to learn to open up (my heart, not just my head) and relax about it. A big thing for me as I’m a control freak who has a massive fear of loss.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

No, not at all  😉

Oh I did fall over a bit of wood two weeks ago.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I didn’t really “buy” much this year. I guess I am pretty chuffed with some of the dresses I purchased recently. In an attempt to become less of a tom boy I have introduced some *cough*cute*cough* dresses to my wardrobe. I’ve even worn some of them.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

My Dad for everything he did for me. Driving me to emergency after anguished phone calls, when I really should have called an ambulance. Waiting in the ER as I had test after test done. Standing by me as I got frustrated and angry and cried, a lot. It actually makes me teary thinking about what I must have put him through.  Best Father Ever.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Mine?  There were times when I was a proper currant.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Ah, what money?  I’ve been broker than ever this year. 2 months without income plus all those days and weeks in between. I’m still not sure how I didn’t lose my house and my sanity.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

The little things: sunshine, Belfast, Oliver Lieb live, Doctor Who Symphonic Spectacular, hanging out with friends, being able to exercise!

16. What song will always remind you of 2011?

Do It With A Rockstar – Amanda Palmer & The Grand Theft Orchestra

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: (a) happier or sadder? (b) thinner or fatter? (c) richer or poorer?

a) Happier.
b) Thinner.
c) Poorer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Photography, cycling, reading, relaxing.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Stressing about my health, pushing people away, worrying about shit

20. How will you spend Christmas?

I’ll be spending it in at my Uncles with my Mum’s side of the family. Eating good food, talking rubbish, relaxing.

21. Did you fall in love in 2012?
Pffft, do I look like I do love?

22. What was your favourite TV program?

Doctor Who, The Fades

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I don’t hate people, hate is a pointless emotion. People I dislike I remove from my life and spend no time or energy on them

24. What was the best book you read?

Hmmmm, that’s a hard one.  I honestly don’t know, I read a fair bit this year. Too hard.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

The Few Moments self titled album, Amanda Palmer & The Grand Theft Orchestra – Theatre is Evil & The Presets – Pacifica

26. What did you want and get?

My health back

27. What did you want and not get?

To feel at ease with myself

28. What was your favourite film of this year?

Shit, I didn’t watch much at all, will have to pass on that one

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

My birthday weekend was the only weekend in months whereby I felt well enough to go out and do something. I went and saw Simon Amstell at the Comedy Festival. It was fabulous. I was 37.

30. What one thing made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Lindt Blueberry Intense Chocolate

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?

What? As if I have any sense of fashion/style/whatever. Confused would sum me up.

32. What kept you sane?

Music, my cats, my family, talking about stuff

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Stoya, Michael McQuilken, I don’t really take much notice of celebs or public figures

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

The whole lot pisses me off more and more each day, so I have tuned out. I’ve got to stop taking to heart how conservative this country is.

35. Who did you miss?

Mum, Martin.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

Some tall, interesting type who intrigues me a little.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.

Health is the most important thing EVER, whether it’s mentally or physically.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

In the space where your brain and your heart collide
You’re convinced there’s a practical place that you can hide

~ by Fen on December 13, 2012.

9 Responses to “2012 reviewed”

  1. Cool survey. Imagine next year’s survey when you have 12 months of better health *fingers crossed to the bloody universe that you have a minimum of 12 months’ good health next year* :-).

  2. ‘4. Did anyone close to you die?

    Not that I remember…’

    Fen!!! Really. Ok, I laughed.

    ’11. What was the best thing you bought?’

    I thought that party outfit was pretty spech.

  3. Now, you KNOW I love me some meme’s/survey thingy’s! I will have to do this. 🙂
    Hard to believe this year has almost goneski.

  4. You had one helluva year, Fen! I’m going to steal this but link to you, okay?
    And what I wish for you ijn 2013 is to open up (head and heart) and see where ‘Some tall, interesting type who intrigues me a little’ takes you….

  5. Merry Christmas, Fenstar!

Leave a Comment For Me

 
