14 bits from my mind

Hullo.  I’ve been slack with blogging and I’m still feeling slack. But not. Hah. I shall do my entry in lazy form.

1 – Please recommend me some books to read and tell me why I should read them.

2 – I’d prefer them in ebook format, if you know where to obtain said ebooks please alert me to this information.

3 – I read the Hunger Games trilogy over the last 3 days – on my tablet. I never ever thought I’d enjoy reading on a tablet/electronic device, but I did. And I feel like I cheated on books. But it felt good. This makes me slightly perplexed.

4 – I’ve been sick pretty much since Boxing Day.  Mad nausea, loss of appetite, occasional vomiting, bum wee, yep, all the fun things. I have booked in for a liver ultrasound but could not get in til 21st January. I’m confident nothing new has developed, this may just be the way of Fen’s world now. I will learn to live with it.

5 – I’m drawing ever closer to being back in the 60’s for my weight. I have about 2 kilos to go. I feel fit, strong and healthy, apart from point 4. Hmmm.

6 – Today I realised how amazing some of the people I have in my life are, and how much they will do for me when I reach out. I need to reach out more.  Today I felt overwhelmed by generosity and love.

7 – I have learned so very much the last few years, more than I give myself credit for. 2013 promises to be a year of big change for me and whilst I’m a little terrified at this prospect, I am also hugely excited about learning and learning some more. I can’t say more on this but things will reveal themselves all in good time.

8 – I feel stronger than I ever have and I know I have a lot to give people who let me into their lives.

9 – Despite being broker than broke I’m content with where I am in my life. I’m eternally grateful that I’m still here. I never want to forget how deathly sick I was, because where I am now is so far from there.

10 – Grief and loss play a huge part in a persons life and today I realised how much it has played in mine.  And how much work I still have to do. Thankfully I have the worlds best mentor who is pushing me to grow.

11 – I am and will always be a control freak. It’s not a bad thing. However I need to learn to relinquish in the last facet of my life that I am yet to do so, then things will be sweet. Unfortunately this part of my life takes the hardest and the most painful work. Fortunately I’m so freakin ready to tackle this that things will be good. You think I’m chilled now? You ain’t seen nothing yet.

12 – Not everyone embraces social media as much as me and is as open as me. I learned this when I posted a photo of my sister on FB and got shouted at. Whilst I am an open book and a chronic over sharer, not everyone else is. I need to keep this in mind.

13 – I’m so fucking excited about the impending birth of my niece/nephew you’d think I was giving birth myself. Thankfully I’m not and I have the flat stomach to prove it!

14 – All you need is love.  (and chocolate)

 

Alex & Tamika

Trying to escape the heat

My NYE bestie
I got snuggled by a wild duck on NYE – no joke!

Untitled
we named her Georgia

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

~ by Fen on January 8, 2013.

16 Responses to “14 bits from my mind”

  1. Love your photos. Always.
    Especially the little duck! How darn cute is that?!

    I don’t know nuffink about ebooks or the like. I’m not that far ahead techmalogically yet!
    I’ve got 3 books here waiting to be read. One that I’ve had for over 2 years!
    The other one I got my Dad to get from the US. He has an online account(yeah, I’m too wussy to have one). It’s about a family of polygamists. The HBO series, Big Love was based on it. “Love times three” it’s called.
    And I’m reading “The story behind the stripe”, http://www.darenberg.com.au/news/2012-07-03/meet-author-story-behind-stripe-100-years-darenberg
    About local vintners here in McLaren Vale.
    The other one is an autobiography about Ray Martin. That’s the 2 year one!

    I sure hope you find some positive answers to all your health related issues.
    I can’t imagine how awful that must be mate.

    Hugs ‘n squishes!!! xo

    • Ray Martin LOL! No wonder it’s taken 2 years. Big Love was great, maybe i’ll look up Love Times Three.

      Fankoo

  2. The duck from NYE explained. I am on an e book learning curve. Public libraries have them available. Amazon has a lot for free.

  3. 14. And cats!

    PS: Take care.

  4. Anything by Augusten Burroughs, started with his quirky autobiography “Running With Scissors”. No one does weird – in terms of personal life – quite like him and he is uproariously funny. Happy New Year! 🙂 x

    • oh yes, I’ve just read his book, um, the yellow one ha ha ha! It was very interesting.
      Happy New Year to you too x

  5. I’ve been pondering my days in old Prahran, everyone is well-dressed there now. You need to stop worrying.

  6. I admit to knowing Sweet FA about ebooks – it’s still second hand paper for me, baby!

    Once your health issues are sorted out (21st January? Sounds like a helluva wait for what you’re going through), it seems like things are going along rather nicely for you. Which is exactly what you deserve. 🙂

  7. Try this site for free ebooks
    http://www.freebooksifter.com/

  8. Hooray for books.
    My recommendations – if you like fantasy, the Game of Thrones series.
    I’ve also downloaded the Anne Bishop books from a great mates recommendation. I’ve yet to read them, but we know each other’s tastes well enough for me to know I will love them.
    If you like action- Matthew Reilly. He is a literary god.Australia’s answer to Michael Crichton (who wrote Jurassic park and ER. Another fantastic author, though a bit dated now). Matt writes well researched, believable SAS/special ops stories. The first one I read I couldn’t put down. He is truly talented.

    And that duck if GORGEOUS. I live ducks.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
