a year ago

One year ago I began my second bout of liver related woes, culminating in 5 months in and out of hospital, more than one major cock up, 3 infections and the fear that I may not pull through the ordeal.

But I did.

And today when I look in the mirror at my scarred body, I am proud of my achievements.

20130110_215036_Helena

My personal training has paid off and I’m feeling fit and healthy.

I wanted to acknowledge this anniversary and recognise just how far I’ve come.

If this post is wonky I apologise, I’m attempting it from my tablet!!

Friday morning addendum: Yesterday I cut back my beta blockers (upped by my GP because my tachycardia was no longer under control).  Since the increased dosage I’ve been constantly nauseas, feeling blue, panicky, had no libido, I’ve been a proper wreck. Yesterday I went back to my original dose of bbs. This morning I woke up feeling the best I’ve felt since Christmas. Coincidence?  I think not. The side effects almost match what I’ve been feeling. I didn’t put two and two together until about a week ago.

Unfortunately this means my tachy/heart palps are back, but maybe I’ll live with them. Don’t worry, I’m going to talk to my doc about this, however given my track record I’ll likely do whatever suits me.  Because I jolly well can.

37 today – bring that shizz on.

~ by Fen on January 10, 2013.

9 Responses to “a year ago”

  1. I’ll have a drink in your honour tonight, Fen. You should be proud!

  2. It all seems like so long ago when you were cut and sliced. Dunno that I could have coped with what you have been trough. You dun well sister.

    • The original slicing and dicing was aaages ago. Now it’s 9 months since my last one. We both dun well methinks.

  3. I was only thinking about this the other day actually. And I remember the hell you went through, you poor thing.

    Yes, indeed, you certainly have come a long way since then. Awesome! 🙂
    x

    • It was hell, but it’s funny how quickly you forget the actual pain. I have recollection of it, but the intensity is gone.

  4. I had palpitations for a while during my twenties. I went to see Dr Rabinov, a few doors down in Carlisle Street. He said: “Young people. Too much rushing about, too much caffiene…There is nothing the matter with your heart!”

    Anxiety, that’s what it was. He put me on valium.

  5. Good for you Fenstar, treat those scars like the badges of honour they are for just surviving one hospital stay let alone several.

  6. Answer these comments.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
