A snotty update

I’ve become really lax at updating my blog. Mainly because nothing much is happening in my life.  I currently have a cold, this is my second one in about 6 weeks. Just a head cold but annoying nonetheless.  There’s been a lot of germs going round work so I’m not surprised I picked something up. Still, I’m unimpressed.

In great news I finally got my bloods done and got the results yesterday. It’s been 15 months since my last surgery and I am very pleased to report that my liver function is almost back to normal. Only my GGTs were slightly elevated, which doesn’t bother me that much. I’m constantly amazed at how well my body has healed.  Of course I have a lot of little ongoing issues such as food intolerances and the like, but hey, I’m alive and kicking and that’s what matters to me.

Being sick has meant I’ve been able to catch up on TV shows and read a book. I finished The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman the other day and loved it to bits. I couldn’t put it down, I was completely entranced and enthralled by it. I’ve been watching the latest and last season of Skins, UK mini series Broadchurch and I’m about to start Les Revenants. I’m really digging Broadchurch (which is airing on the ABC every Friday – however I have them all shhh) and Olivia Colman is brilliant in it.  I’ve always been fond of her, from her dippy Mum days in Green Wing, from Peep Show or even from Rev. 

Still doing online dating though I haven’t met up with anyone lately, I’m feeling really disillusioned with it all to be honest. But I can’t take my profile down, just in case. There are a couple of people I just chat with, who don’t even live in the same state as me. I do like good conversation. Anyway, I’m sure I’ll get sick of it and pull the plug eventually. 

I stayed up far too many late nights watching the Tour de France. It’s amazing how popular it is amongst the masses now. Almost fashionable to watch it. I set up my twitter so I could keep an eye on the sbstdf hashtag (#sbstdf) and had a laugh each night. I think I’ve been watching it for about 15 years now, though the coverage is far superior to those times. SBS just got their contract renewed for the next 10 years which is fabulous. I’d dread to think what it would turn into if commercial telly got the rights. Ew.

I’m keeping an eye out for a new job. I don’t hate my current one, but I’ve grown tired of the empty promises and I really need more money to survive.  I love my colleagues to bits, so if I leave it will be really difficult, however one has to look forward and find opportunities to grow. I’m just not getting them where I am now.

A friend of mine has reminded me that the Open House Melbourne weekend is fast approaching. Shit, it’s this weekend in fact. I always say I will go and check things out but never get around to it. Maybe this weekend I shall change bad habits…

I shall leave you with a selection of pics from the last few weeks.

A very milky Pippa <3

A very milky Pippa ❤

Rickett's Point

Rickett’s Point

Dandenong Rd

Dandenong Rd

sunset up the driveway

sunset up the driveway

I purchased a new toaster & kettle as I dropped soup in my old toaster

I purchased a new toaster & kettle as I dropped soup in my old toaster

A delicious breakfast all for me!

A delicious breakfast all for me!

Olives stuffed with anchovies!

Olives stuffed with anchovies!

Incoming storm

Incoming storm

Chasing the pot of gold

Chasing the pot of gold

Alex tries to conduct a hostile takeover

Alex tries to conduct a hostile takeover

Unimpressed Alex (hence the hostile takeover)

Unimpressed Alex (hence the hostile takeover – that is his tree!)

 

~ by Fen on July 23, 2013.

8 Responses to “A snotty update”

  1. Get well soon!!! So happy to hear the good results for a change in regards to your liver function. 🙂

  2. Love the picture “Alex tries to conduct a hostile takeover.”

  3. Orrong Road looking west, I think. My daily drive, twice. Just back from HN and looking at red kettles and toasters. Is a four slice not a tad excessive for one person? It took me some time to work out the incoming storm photo, until I looked at the window and saw the apartment building and the tall brick chimney. Ah yes, the church spire too. Great photos.

    • Correct Andrew, I was travelling along Dandenong Rd, stopped at the Orrong Rd lights. I drive through at least twice a day, sometimes up to 6 times a day! 4 slices isn’t excessive, I like 3 bits of toast often, plus if you have visitors it saves waiting!

  4. OK I didn’t comment here but I know I admired teh felines before Andrew’s comment to which I will now reply: NO 4 slices is not excessive. Toast is the absolute Comfort Food.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
