Resignation!

I resigned from my job today. It’s a weird feeling.

But first some background information.

A job came up while I was on my staycation that caught my eye. I’ve not really been looking, but more keeping a vague eye on things. My sector, Psych Disability Rehab & Support Services (PDRSS) is about to go through some major changes. Some good changes, some bad, nothing I want to discuss here. This, along with some empty promises, had prompted me to think about what else may be out there. So I’d been kind of/almost paying attention.

The job that I saw was through an agency, it didn’t mention who the employer was. I fired off a resume, ignoring the request for a cover letter. I didn’t think anyone would contact me!  The very next day I got a phone call and the day after that I went into the agency to have a chat with them. Here I found out more about the job and the employer.

It sounded interesting, but very similar to what I was doing. Similar money. I wasn’t super interested, but when they rang me for an interview with the employer I figured I had nothing to lose. In the interview it was clear to me they’d pitched the job at a lower level than what I was currently at. So I thought why not lay my cards on the table and tell them what I’m after.  So I did just that. I told them I wanted to be able to move up in the organisation, that I’d done training for a team leader position and this is what I had my sights on. I told them I didn’t want to just change jobs and do more of the same forever, that I needed to be challenged, that I wanted to grow. I also told them a little more money wouldn’t hurt either.

The interview went well, I felt relaxed and happy when I left. But I honestly thought they wouldn’t want me as what I wanted was different to the job they had advertised.

Two days later I got a phone call from the agency. They told me the employer was very interested in me, so much so that they were happy with my vision and they could accommodate that.  They told me that they had ideas and just needed to ring my referees to make sure they stood up.

I got a phone call today from the manager reiterating this, telling me that he wanted for the job not to be a step sideways for me, but for it to be something I could progress in. That they had plans. They could also offer me a little more money, with a view to that increasing when I moved up.

So I said yes when they offered me the job.

I’m scared, I’m pleased, I’m excited. It’s also bitter sweet, because I love my colleagues and my clients. But unless you push yourself, unless you put yourself out there, nothing changes. That much I’ve learned in life.

And so one chapter comes to a close, another one begins.

Bring it on!!

~ by Fen on September 13, 2013.

8 Responses to “Resignation!”

  1. Yay!
    Good on you and good luck 🙂

  2. Awesome. you HAVE to say what you want. A couple of us ended up rebelling in our team building yesterday because we could see it was going nowhere. Ended up with the facilitator getting the boot from our manager and the staff getting to ask the questions they wanted. Speak up and you never know what you’ll get 🙂

  3. I admire people who have a little more ambition than my apathetic self. Well done.

  4. Well done for being courageous and getting the rewards for it! I hope the new job is even more fulfilling *big hugs*.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
