Pizza on the Weber

This is something I’ve wanted to try for aaages, but as I didn’t have a pizza stone I hadn’t done it.  So today I finally got off my ‘arris and purchased myself a pizza stone. I went for the standard Weber brand stone with tray, as I figured I have a Weber why not continue the brand worship. Plus it’s not that expensive.

I’d read up on the method and set about preparing my Weber. I propped the stone on some old tuna type cans, as apparently being a little higher in the lid is beneficial. I like a thick topping so I figured it couldn’t hurt.

I made my own base with a simple recipe and rolled it out onto the tray. I also made my own sauce as I had nothing much in the house, I just used some diced tinned tomatoes, oregano and garlic that I mixed in the blender. Easy peasy. I wanted my first effort to be simple, in case it was a disaster.

I topped with double smoked gypsy ham, mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, pineapple, onion and cheese. Then panicked when I realised I left the olives off, so threw them on top!

I transferred it all into the Weber, closed the lid and crossed my bits. I was a little anxious as to whether it would work or not.

I needn’t have worried. The pizza was marvellous!  I’ve eaten 3/4’s of it already and am tempted to finish it off.  Now I have a better idea of how it all works I can be more adventurous with my toppings.  Hooray.

step by step!

step by step!

~ by Fen on October 27, 2013.

9 Responses to “Pizza on the Weber”

  1. I haven’t made one for a while but here’s what I do, use self-raising flour, knead it and roll it into a shallow baking dish (mine is rectangular) cover the dough with a THICK layer of Rosella tomato sauce, then top with shredded cheese, pepperoni, olives and lots of anchovies. It’s better to under-bake slightly so that the hot sauce is above a base that’s soft and doughy. I can never eat it all in one go and usually have about a third left over to microwave the next day and golly but it tastes even better!
    I’ve never eaten any pizza as good, honestly. I gave a slice to a well-known Williamstown prostitute and she liked it so much she said she’d pay me to make them for her which frightened the hell out of me because it’s so much work.

    -Robert.
    Pizza pimp.

  2. We have a Weber. We bought an egg and bacon plate for it and used it once. We prefer to go out for our egg and bacon. I think I would like the pizza stone for our Weber, but I suspect it might go the way of bacon and egg plate.

    • Yeah I got one of those egg and bacon things and I used it once. But I roast in it a lot and I will definitely do pizza in this a fair bit. I prefer cooking on it to being inside.

  3. Well a lot of the trouble is in buying all the ingredients then setting them up to make the thing. I don’t see any difference in me using a tray and you using a ‘stone’ (whatever that is) but I’ll tell you one thing, if you try my style pizza you’ll have one hell of a thirst later.

  4. Yes, mainly because of the anchovies, but the pepperoni as well. And the good ol’ Rosella (always my favourite tomato sauce) has a notorious amount of salt. No doubt that’s why they sell a salt reduced version (for pansies).

  5. I adore anyone who dares to put pineapple on a pizza — I do it too and don’t care what the pizza snobs say!

Leave a Comment For Me

 
