Why

Sometimes I wonder why I am the one who speaks up. It does get tiring and I often wish others would stand up and say something.

But today, just now, I was shown why sometimes you have to be that person.

I’m home fending off a migraine by the way, and I have a sore throat. I’m hoping that things just stay as they are, but I’m having huge hyperosmia and all the smells are triggering the hell out of me right now.

Anyway, back to the story.

We have a long long driveway here, with the units down both sides. It’s about 200m long, I live almost at the end of it. Wait, I have a picture somewhere, lemme find it…

5180879669_527ce16675_z

There you go. This is from about half way down. As you can see, there are no cars parked on the driveway, which is how it’s meant to be. We get letters every 6 months or so reminding us that we are only allowed to park in the designated spots, the driveway not being one of them. But people mostly ignore it. When you get home you weave your way in and out of the cars, mostly people use common sense.

Until my neighbours moved in. They’re opposite me, so park almost out the front of my unit. It means that it takes me 2 moves to get into my carport when they’re parked there. It doesn’t bother me that much, but it annoys my neighbour (next to me, we share a carport) as he’s older and finds it more difficult in his 4wd. When they first moved in I quickly discovered they all seem to do a rotating roster driving taxis. They’d park in the driveway, blocking it completely, reluctantly moving if you tooted them. So I complained. That was 3 months ago. Recently they’ve taken to coming home around 2.30am and sitting outside, engine running, music on, talking, laughing, lights shining into our units. They did it twice over the last 4 days and I got furious. So I complained again, long and hard. Bugger them, I can put up with so much, but you fuck with my sleep I’ll fuck with you.

Anyway, thankfully it appears as though the real estate has done their thing, as they are now parking down the end of the driveway, where there’s a big space for about 6 cars. It’s a 20 metre walk from their house.

I spotted my elderly neighbour earlier and went out to tell him the good news. He thanked me profusely, telling me that he’s been diagnosed with a heart valve condition and had been in hospital recently. He said it was stressing him out with the cars parked where they were, that an ambulance may not be able to make it to him. The poor thing. His English isn’t wonderful, and I’m sure he wouldn’t know who to complain to if he wanted to. So I’m really glad that I made the effort. I told him to knock on my door any time he needed anything, I don’t want to lose him as my neighbour.

So this is why you have to speak up, because others who are less able to may suffer if you don’t.

~ by Fen on July 8, 2014.

6 Responses to “Why”

  1. I get this all the time. And now I am sick of being the only one who ‘complains’. No one else bothers these days, it seems. I’m seen as a whinger.
    At our last rental, we were so sick and tired of the constant howling dog over the back. Speak to all the surrounding neighbours, and they say, “Yeah, it’s SO annoying.” But do they speak up? Nope.
    Luckily the dogs owner was really nice, and had no idea about the howling. We were lucky there, but have in the past come across not so nice response when asking someone to either keep their noise levels down, or that their dog is barking/howling.

  2. Oh, PS- hope you feel better soon. x

  3. Hope it is only one day of feeling unwell.

    Sometimes, people are just thick and don’t realise they are causing problems for others. It is all about them and not a thought for anyone else. Anyway, good result.

    • They were well aware Andrew, I’d brought it to their attention, nicely. More than once. Then I stormed out there at 3am in my dressing gown with my hair crazy and did it not so nicely!! Ha ha.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
