The Trip (part one)

This will have to be in dribs and drabs, I don’t have the brain power/concentration to do it any other way! Jet lag can be a proper arse.

(This little bit I wrote on the plane on the way over)

With about two hours to go I am now well and truly ready to land. The flights have been wonderful. The 787 Dreamliner is a magnificent aircraft. Quieter, bigger windows, not too squashy, I’ve enjoyed flying in it. It probably helps that each leg has been empty enough that I have had a whole row to myself hence I’ve been able to lie down and actually get some shut eye. I’ve also met some lovely people on the flight, so it’s win win.

I was remarkably calm before this trip, not sure how I managed to pull that off. It seems the anxiety that once used to cripple my life is behind me. I remember 9 years ago doing this trip and being a wreck for most of it. Aah how things change. Those two years in the UK were pivotal for me however. I learned how to manage again and became comfortable with who I am. It wasn’t easy. Having had my mum die I was definitely questioning my place in the world. I felt as though nothing was right. Suffering from an all encompassing depression and the crippling anxiety that came with it, I was almost ready to give in to it all. It had become a life not worth living.

I knew if I didn’t do something about it this would get dire. Selling my house and leaving Australia was, in hindsight, the best thing I could have done. At the time I have no doubt it was me running away.

This time around my trip has come after a difficult year. I needed to get away from it all once again, to forget for a while, to reassess things.

IMG_20141113_130018Royal Brunei airlines were fantastic. Numerous people pointed out to me that they didn’t serve alcohol, which isn’t an issue for this non drinker. Besides I could think of nothing worse than drinking alcohol in an environment that leeches moisture from your very being!  The meals were fine, simple but effective. The service was easy going and pleasant. I would definitely recommend them. I had no issues whatsoever.

I arrived at Heathrow, London early in the morning. I could not check in to my hotel until midday, so I parked myself at T5 and used the free wifi to let people know I had arrived and to waste some time. The airport was busy and I was tired, but not exhausted. After a couple of hours I set off into central London to find my hotel.

IMG_20141114_083109

~ by Fen on December 12, 2014.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
