Enrolled!

Last year I decided to have a crack at enrolling for a Masters of Social Work course at Deakin University. The course is an online course and over 2 years part time. I completed the necessary bits and pieces, then whilst I was in Europe I got an email asking me to complete a personal statement and send certified copies of my results from my underground Counselling degree.

I emailed them back, more than once, letting them know I was in Europe and that I would send the paperwork as soon as I got home to Australia. I did complete my personal statement late one night in Berlin. I hoped it read okay, as typing it out on a tablet was less than ideal.

Fast forward to a couple of days ago when I got an email confirming I was successful in obtaining a place in the course! I was ecstatic to read this, then immediately overwhelmed at the thought that I would be a student again!!

Today I’ve enrolled at Uni!! It still feels a little surreal, but I’m sure once the first lot of classes start it will sink in!

~ by Fen on January 30, 2015.

8 Responses to “Enrolled!”

  1. You are so brave.

  2. Congrats! 🙂

    Sounds like it went a bit smoother than the whole TAFE thing has gone this year, my poor lady is so confused she keeps ringing me to tell me I am not registered, then calls to tell me I am and when the course starts, then another call to say I am not registered, then another call to say I am registered, then yet another call to say I am not registered, and that time I decided that rather than smile and nod and just go along with it, I would put her out of her misery and let her know she called me several times today and I think we’re good and I’ll see her next week.. which is probably what I should have done on the second call but was too polite to do so.

    Sometimes being polite is not the best plan, which is yet another lesson I am taking along with me this year. 🙂

    I hope your course goes awesomely!

  3. Good on you!

    I went back to uni last year (at aged 42…) – I LOVE it. Best decision I ever made. So much so that I think I’ll take a long, long time to finish my studies 😉

  4. Congratulations, Fen! I look forward to hearing more about your adventures.

  5. I’ve started my thesis, it’ll be read by winos and professors, some of its on Copperwitch already.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
