It’s a wrap

I’ve just spent the last 2 hours searching for my spare pair of glasses. I’ve lost/misplaced my every day pair. I am hoping that when I threw my bag into the back of my work car this morning they fell out of my bag. Both them and the case are missing. So annoyed.  Even my spare pair, with the taped up arm are awol. Grrrr.

If I have lost my glasses, I’m going to have to sell stuff to fund new ones, my lenses are expensive :/

I had a super busy weekend. I caught up with a friend for brunch on Saturday, at another friends cafe. I’m fairly sure we could have talked all weekend, it was lovely. Then Saturday night my friends took me out to Lau’s Family Kitchen, which was superb. The food was divine, honestly, so amazingly good. It was my first time there, despite it being run by the family of a friend of mine. So I got to catch up with him for the first time in years too!

Afterwards we went into the city and saw Pablo Francisco’s show at the Comedy Festival. He was funny, but a lot of his jokes I found tedious. Stuff that people joked about in the 90’s but people have moved from now. His imitations were good and he is obviously talented, but I wasn’t comfortable with a lot of his jokes, they were racist, homophobic and offensive. Afterwards we walked in a downpour to Fed Square to see Nick Cody. I enjoyed him a lot more. I think we got home around 1am, well past my bed time!!

Sunday one of my best friends came over and we had a late lunch at Rickett’s Point, watching the weather change and blow madly through.

17194128282_871c860ac0_o

it was pouring when I took this, I got very wet!

So wraps up my 40th birthday celebrations. I can’t be bothered dragging it out for weeks. I’m done!

I now need to focus my energy on organising my ideas and associated bits for my future endeavours, ie, new business. I’ve been talking to people about it and the reaction so far has been positive. I’m going to meet with friends who run their own businesses and do some mind melding. I woke up at 4am full of ideas and it spiralled out of control and I didn’t go back to sleep. Well done me. If I don’t find my freakin glasses though, nothing will get done! Even typing this is hurting the heck out of my eyes.

(I keep all my birthday cards… not sure why… I have loads of them!)

20150420_200140-01

~ by Fen on April 20, 2015.

8 Responses to “It’s a wrap”

  1. It is a bit exciting about your plans. My fortieth birthday, when I have it, was the best. Yours sounds like it was pretty good.

  2. On my home and contents insurance, I have a policy called unspecified personal property cover – this covers any lost, stolen or damaged personal property up to $1,000 with a $50 excess.

    I’m about to make a claim for my prescription sunglasses, which have vanished into the ether. I’ve claimed lost glasses with it before, and I also claimed a pair of sunglasses which I wore when kayaking and the salt water swim caused the frames to turn green.

    It might be worth checking with your insurance company to see if they provide a cover like this, or even if you already have it built into your coverage. While it might not cover you this time, it might cover you on future occasions. 🙂

    I suggest a pen and paper by the bedside for the foreseeable future might help with the ideas that come to you as a surprise in your sleep for a while.

    And also too, Happy Birthday! 🙂

    • I don’t actually have insurance 😦
      Good news is, I found my glasses in the back of my work car this morning, so relieved. Still, I’d like to know where that spare pair have got to.

  3. I should add the salt water swim was not intentional – it was the only time I ever got dumped into the water by a freak wave. 🙂

  4. Ooohhhh so much happening! Good for you girl!!

    Glad the birthday shenanigans went off without a hitch! I hope I can turn 40 with as much grace and un-freaking out as you have shown!! Hahah

    • Ha ha oh there’s been plenty of freaking out, don’t you worry. But I’m getting used to the idea now, slowly!

Leave a Comment For Me

 
