Fleeting Friday Reflections

Heck! It’s been almost a month. Apologies.

To be honest, I’ve just been dealing with life and its curveballs. For a month I’ve been unable to see my clients at work due to new legislation that was introduced in February. We were audited a month ago and it was discovered that I needed an International Police Check to prove I wasn’t some mad criminal. Great! So I got stuck archiving old client files. All 1500 of them. For weeks and weeks. Finally, today, my police check arrived. Thankfully my international life of crime still lies undiscovered!

Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 12.26.01 pm

I also got the news that one of my closest friends is moving to Scotland. I don’t deal well with people leaving, so this news really floored me. I’ve been swinging wildly from coping like a champ, to being totally unreasonable and ridiculous.

“Death of a loved one can change you in all sorts of ways, both good and bad. I have become strong and self sufficient. I followed my heart and went to uni to study as a counsellor based on my own experiences with my grief counsellor after Mum died. I sold my house and lived overseas for 2 years, because I felt life was too short to be tied down with a mortgage and a job I wasn’t overly fond of.

But I am unable to maintain relationships now, and this is due to my fear of loss. I can’t do goodbyes, I can’t cope with the thought of people leaving. I get panicky, I feel like things are out of control and I project this onto people and eventually I scare them away. I sabotage things. I know I’m doing it. I can’t expect others to understand why am I like this. It makes me really emotional to think that I have ruined relationships with people I loved because of this.”

I know ultimately I will be okay, I can lean on my amazing friends and use their love and warmth to get me through this. But the thought of not being able to see this person, someone whom I trust more than anyone in the world hurts me to the core. This person allows me to express a side of me that makes me feel alive and whole. With their leaving, the lid will go back on and my life will become less fun. I dread that.

I feel like I am at a cross roads right now. Unsure which direction to take. And I’m not going to make any decisions in a hurry. I have been through a hell of a lot in the last month and it’s any wonder I feel unsettled. It’s time to reach out to those who I love and use their world views to guide me.

This weekend is forecast to be wonderful warm Spring weather and I am catching up with fabulous friends and celebrating my nephews first birthday. Should be lovely.

~ by Fen on September 11, 2015.

One Response to “Fleeting Friday Reflections”

  1. I saw this and thought of you.

    I’ve now had to download Mr Robot in HD. Jeebus. I thought Rami Malek was pretty good looking before, but in HD he is even more stunning. 🙂 I love the hungry eyes one. I am not such a fan of all the needle scratches.

Leave a Comment For Me

 
